Rivers of Blood Part Two: What To Do About the Jackasses (a Radical Feminist Perspective)

I write in the dead of night, when I feel safest. The busy street is quiet and most people are asleep. It’s when I can collect my thoughts without distraction. Occasionally, I hear my pet mouse pitter-pattering on the linoleum, begging for food, and I know for the moment that I’m in my own little home with the little creatures I adore.  I’m safe from street harassment and safe from men. There’s a deadbolt on my door and I can always climb out of my window if a man tries entering. I keep my fingernails sharp as hell and tell myself that I will gauge a man’s eyes out if he tries anything.

For most of the day I was lost in a numb shell. There were no waves of emotions I could measure time with. I feel like I’m suspended somewhere, I dunno where. There’s nothing pulling me, nothing pushing me. It’s like I’m in water.

I keep drinking coffee, and smoking and sitting at my computer. I’m tired. Extremely tired. I think if I type out how I feel it will help me rid myself of this suspension. My sleeping is fucked up. I went to bed at 4pm yesterday and slept till midnight. Men don’t have to live this way. They don’t have to worry about such fine details of their safety. They don’t have to worry about going out in public, getting sexually hollered at or raped. They know FUCK ALL about it.

The misogynist killing spree of that jackass has really gotten to me. I know about the Manosphere and how he was identical to MRA’s/PUA’s/MGTOW and the rest of those assholes. I read their violent rhetoric almost every damned day. When some MRA fuckwit comments on MSM articles about how ‘not all men are like that’ or ‘the jackass was mentally ill and that’s why he did it’ I want to scream.

Listen spermturds, there’s way too many jackasses like YOU out there. I’m not setting up a screening process and taking time out of my life so I can find one of you that’s halfway decent. I have enough shit to do trying to protect myself on a daily basis than to set up some program of how to separate all of you. When I see how some of you derail the facts surrounding why the jackass did what he did then you just add to my consciousness. You fuckwits pile up real damn fast. It gets to the point where I don’t want anything to do with a single one of you, and I DON’T.

Guess what? I don’t fucking want to waste time on any of you. You don’t deserve it. When you supposed enlightened dudebros start taking the other assholes to town and correcting their shit so that I don’t have to go through my 75-step safety plan then I might have a few minutes to bestow on you. Right now none of you deserve a single ounce of time yet y’all think you’re entitled to it.

If I walk down the street it’s one of you fuckers that issues me an order to ‘smile.’ I don’t have to fucking smile at you. If one of you says ‘hi’ to me and I don’t instantly pay heed to you, you call me a ‘bitch.’

If I want to sleep with one of you I become a whore. If I don’t sleep with any of you I’m a frigid bitch and become a target. Guess what assholes? I’m never going to sleep with ANY OF YOU.

I went through this period of political lesbianism that never really quite left my consciousness. I’m still a political lesbian. My intimate time is going where it’s deserved: TO A WOMAN.  I imagine walking down the street with my girlfriend so happy and content like I did in my college years and not so many years ago. I think women should become political lesbians because too many of you males are murdering us. Who the fuck wants to play Russian roulette with our very lives? I sure as shit don’t.

To try and find some balance last night I watched movies about women. I watched a biography about Winnie Mandela last night. I also watched a movie about Dian Fossey and Jane Goodall. These women never gave up. Their strength inspires me, making me want to go forward. Even the women in these films had to deal with jackasses and I suppose I also watched to learn their balance strategies.

Even the againstmensrights reddit is full of nice images and videos of animals and other cute things to try and cleanse our minds from the male hatred staring us straight in the face in the form of the ‘Men’s Human Rights Movement.’

Jesus H. Christ you jackasses actually think you’re a fucking human rights movement? That’s the biggest turd of a mansplain ever in the HIStory of mansplaining.

Every woman who is consciously aware of the MRA’s and knows their attitudes regarding women knows this will happen again. It already has. Three jackasses fired at women who refused to have sex with them. This was just one day after the drive-by murders. Luckily, the women escaped.

You know what this is? This is terrorism. Yes, I wrote this before I knew there was a petition to the White House to declare Men’s Rights groups terrorist groups. Sign it here.

Progressive men are no different than the rest in my view. Yes, you can have good discussions and they’ll tell you they’re pro-feminist and are aware of the struggles of women but they eventually show themselves as men who are raised in a patriarchal culture, a toxic hypermasculine world where men rule and women obey. They’ll spout some bullshit about radical feminism in total ignorance. Progressive men do this nice little trick of endearing themselves to third wave feminism to keep their cred and simultaneously quote a random passage from a radical feminist devoid of context, showing me how fucking clueless they are.

The hashtag #YesAllWomen should never die. I want women from all over the world to keep that hashtag alive. I want women to tell their experiences, in real time, to the world. I want women to tweet every violation they experience at the hands of men.  We have a chance to make our voices heard to a larger audience than ever before. It doesn’t matter if men listen because women WILL.

Yesterday when I was asking myself what the fuck I was doing I was really pondering how much time I devote to men. My main objective on this blog is to help women by producing information they need to keep themselves safe from these men, to let women know what’s out there.

I’ve done some good. I was able to reach out to several women who were being attacked by Men’s Rights groups. I’ve received emails from women who were targeted as well as their children who had direct experience with some of the MRA’s I’ve written about. Ultimately I want this blog to be a resource for information. I want women to know where it is so they can get informed if they’re being targeted by these violent misogynists. Tweet this blog to all your female friends. Let them know. Use every social media power you have. Shit’s about to get real.

I’m uncertain of what to do next. I’m conferring with others about the next step in how to deal with MRA’s. I will maintain this blog and I might consider some guest’s posting for those who research MRA sites and gather information on them and the women they target. I’d also like to start a list of MRA’s as a one stop go to for women so they can avoid them or take action. It will be a helluva long list but I’m determined.

Women must stick together. I don’t care if you agree with my form of feminism or not. There is common ground here : women’s safety from these misogynists who wish harm on women and who carry it out.

I don’t particularly have much in common with third wave feminists or ‘liberal’ feminists. They sometimes spout shit about radical feminism that’s nothing short of ignorant but I do know that as a radical feminist my goal is to LIBERATE women and destroy patriarchy. Those two things are intertwined. You can’t be liberated until you get rid of patriarchy.

The thing is, many liberal feminists know this and yet they still throw gibberish around about radical feminism to these MRA’s to coddle them and to let them know that they’re not like those radicals.

Listen ladies, you have to get real here. I cannot do this without you. It’s about our very lives. Men aren’t going to help you. Many of you already have had that ‘talk’ with a progressive man where you find out he’s got it all wrong when you thought he ‘got it.’

So whaddya say ladies? You want to protect yourselves or are we going to argue about theory? Backlash from entitled, woman hating men isn’t new but it’s more powerful because it reaches more jackasses than ever. It allows the jackasses to find women easier and harm them. It allows jackasses to have sites dedicated to producing the next Elliot Rodgers, Marc Lepine, George Sodini and the rest.

Think of it this way: We’re fighting for our very existence while the jackasses are doing everything in their power to kill us. Call me radical all you want, it’s just that I believe it when some jackass says he’s going to kill me, or that he’s going rape me, or that he hates me because his misogyny allows him to come up with conspiracy theories that some gynocracy is holding the poor dudebro down and in so making up these conspiracy theories from his ass he’s figured out ways to justify his hatred of women.

You see, that’s what MRA’s do. They come up with jackass paranoid theories that all women and feminists are ruining their lives so they can have some retribution that their little dudebro minds can conjure up. They take feminist language such as rape culture and use it on feminists. When a feminist professor corrected them on a comment section, the jackasses went to her University and libeled her. They put up posters all over the place calling her a rape apologist. When you see a stat cited by an MRA it’s always been funneled through the dudebro’s paranoid theory. When MRA’s claim that domestic violence is equal and women do it as much as men, they cite a few studies that have been thoroughly debunked. I’ve seen many a liberal feminist fall for this shit. I’ve seen you on comment sections ‘there thereing’ the poor menz.

Enough OK?

Any guy who spouts MRA rhetoric is an MRA. If you find some dudebro saying shit like ‘domestic violence is equal’, ‘men are raped more’, ‘the court system favours women in custody cases’, ‘women do less time in jail than men’, radical feminist quotemines, ‘the school system is feminized,’ or any other paranoid delusion that you know as a woman goes against your experiential facts then you’re talking to an MRA. I don’t care how nice he appears to be. He’s an MRA and he’s completely wrong about what he’s talking about.

Many feminists have shown MRA’s that their paranoid delusions are just that. Delusions. Many bloggers have taken apart each and every MRA turd and shown them what the facts really are. We still need to do that, don’t get me wrong. The jackasses regularly spout these talking points to people who, as I said above, have no clue. It really does start feeling like you’re a maid, cleaning up their crap wherever they go.

We can’t keep cleaning up after them. Things need to get pro-active. I don’t know exactly what the next step is so I want to hear from you. What do you think the next steps are?

 

 

 

21 thoughts on “Rivers of Blood Part Two: What To Do About the Jackasses (a Radical Feminist Perspective)

  1. My guess would be: leverage the SPLC decision and Elliot Rodgers to put pressure on MRA venues, get anti-MRA articles disseminated in college newspapers, protests and other shows of force. They are only able to put their hatred of women in the open because of general agreement that such speech is okay: take it away and they have nowhere to go.

  2. Invite interested feminists to email with their bona fides. Make a list and check it twice. Make it clear that, no offense, but participation will be limited and somewhat arbitrary. Weed out the Hufferdoodles and decide on a basic membership. Form an anon organizing committee to do this. Then go underground for everything else, and never be heard from again except as a group:

    Feminists Supporting MRA Victims (FSMV)…?

  3. Maya Angelou is dead at 86. She wrote a number of immortal poems, and this will be read 200 years from now:

    Still I Rise

    You may write me down in history
    With your bitter, twisted lies,
    You may tread me in the very dirt
    But still, like dust, I’ll rise.

    Does my sassiness upset you?
    Why are you beset with gloom?
    ‘Cause I walk like I’ve got oil wells
    Pumping in my living room.

    Just like moons and like suns,
    With the certainty of tides,
    Just like hopes springing high,
    Still I’ll rise.

    Did you want to see me broken?
    Bowed head and lowered eyes?
    Shoulders falling down like teardrops.
    Weakened by my soulful cries.

    Does my haughtiness offend you?
    Don’t you take it awful hard
    ‘Cause I laugh like I’ve got gold mines
    Diggin’ in my own back yard.

    You may shoot me with your words,
    You may cut me with your eyes,
    You may kill me with your hatefulness,
    But still, like air, I’ll rise.

    Does my sexiness upset you?
    Does it come as a surprise
    That I dance like I’ve got diamonds
    At the meeting of my thighs?

    Out of the huts of history’s shame
    I rise
    Up from a past that’s rooted in pain
    I rise
    I’m a black ocean, leaping and wide,
    Welling and swelling I bear in the tide.
    Leaving behind nights of terror and fear
    I rise
    Into a daybreak that’s wondrously clear
    I rise
    Bringing the gifts that my ancestors gave,
    I am the dream and the hope of the slave.
    I rise
    I rise
    I rise.

  4. http://yoisthisracist.com/post/86812775873/to-you-internet-misogynists

    Along the lines of your excellent post:

    First of all, fuck you. It’s always been like, you know, an irritating thing that you’d attempted to co-opt the language of feminism and other civil rights struggles to cloak your sexist ideas in bullshit like “Men’s Rights” and calling this sexist garbage “activism.” And for a long time, I think a lot of people like me were down with ignoring this shit because it was juvenile and stupid, but also because it seemed like this tactic was clearly the same as racists whining about why there isn’t White History Month, or homophobes trying to have a Straight Pride Parade, something that anyone with half a brain could see is transparently a way to prop up the bigotry of people who already control the balance of power in this world.

    But this UC Santa Barbara killer brings up a way that this type of shit can affect people. Because, when you co-opt the rhetoric of revolution and struggle, it’s more than just “trolling” or some bullshit to make, you know, actual decent people angry. It’s language that can make a disturbed person think that defending bigotry is a legitimate struggle, that, in Rodger’s case, that owning and subjugating women is a cause worth killing and dying for. Because that’s what those words mean, you fucking garbage assholes, those words are for people who struggle from real oppression, to inspire people to sacrifice and never give up. The fact that straight white men have taken these words to rally around calcifying the bigotry that’s slipping from their fingers is truly disgusting, and now it’s more clear that it has fucking consequences.

    Fuck you, you pieces of shit, fuck you.

    • To clarify, the quote “First of all” is from a terrific blog called “Yo, Is this Racist?” And addresses MRAs.

  5. Well, communicating or explaining to MRAs is obviously useless and even men who appear to want to be allies really don’t get it – they have to have a lot of things explained to them and they still don’t really understand it because most of them live in some weird, liberal la-la land far removed from reality – especially our day-to-day, life-time accumulation of that reality.

    I think it’s find that Futrelle and BreadandRoses blogger do what they do. And, I certainly appreciate all you’ve done with your YT channel and your blogs. Before I found your vids I was really just scratching my head at the vitriol directed at me and at women in general on YT and elsewhere. I didn’t realize that these guys were either part of or being influenced by an organization, although I certainly found their spammy, knee-jerk reflexive, nonsensical responses to women-related issues pretty peculiar. It was you who helped me put it all together. And, I’m just one person, but I do have a small sphere of influence outside my blog, so I have the opportunity to influence women in ways that will not be easily seen – furthermore, I’ve become more radicalized very recently, the evolution of this is probably apparent at my blog.

    I remember the first time one of my commenters at that blog called me “radical” in a complimentary way. I thought to myself “Why is not wanting to be raped, not wanting to have to spend years trying to recover from a murder attempt by men perpetrated on a complete stranger for their amusement, not wanting to be harassed, stalked, and abused by men in any way radical?” But, after reading more websites and books by mainly radical feminists, I see that this really is some sort of radical idea. The thought of escaping the violence of men forever is a radical idea! Apparently, this is because men’s violence against women is such an accepted norm that the idea of a woman not wanting to be raped, abused, strangled, abducted, beaten and so on is seen as extremely eccentric.

    While I admire your past efforts greatly, I can certainly understand if you want to change your focus a little bit, which is how I interpreted your post.

    I’ve been done with men for quite a while now, but I still keep hearing this echoing voice in my head – my own – saying, “I’m done here,” since this misogynistic murder spree in Santa Barbara. So, I guess I’m even more done here than I was before – and I thought I was pretty done here. LOL! But, I am certainly questioning the last vestiges of relationships I have with men, which are very, very few and include a minimum of online interaction. Men – all men – represent a really scary situation to me. Interacting with men online – accepting comments from men at my blog, for instance, really scares me. (The only male commenter I’ve ever had is Bread and Roses blogger, I’ve had other men try, though.) But, the thing that scares me so much about men is I know how they can turn really vicious on a dime – men I have trusted with my life have put guns in my face, beat, strangled and raped me. I can’t forget it – every. . I know how seemingly nice, decent men can act in shocking ways against women when they think no one is looking. This never leaves my mind in my interactions with many men and even though I’d love to be able to trust them even a little bit, I just can’t do it.

    The response both in mainstream and so-called alternative news and among almost all men online is appalling. And, this is where the “I’m done here,” echoing in my head really seems to originate from.

    There is nothing to be gained from interactions with men, in my view.

    Furthermore, we see that cutting them off is the thing they hate most. I think it’s one of our best weapons against them – blocking them out. They really are just soulless, animated lumps of violence and hatred walking around, anyway – so why not treat them like the things they are. They should not be treated as humans, certainly we should not consider them our equals when they are obviously our inferiors in practically every way.

    I don’t know what I can do to help, but if I can, you can reach me on skype. I’m, also, up very late at night usually. I don’t sleep well at night, even behind numerous locks, alarms and with no shortage of measures in place to ensure my survival in case of a breach… I find my best creative time is around 3 a.m. I’ve been trying to remember to turn Skype on. If you want to talk even briefly, that’s fine. We don’t have to have a long conversation. You can, also, email me at my same old gmail address, but you might give me a heads up because I check it only rarely.

    On a final note, I think it is clear that law enforcement, laws, legislation, etc., is going to help us because they are part of the very establishments that are endorsing and participating in our oppression. Andrea Dworkin seemed to be a real fan of Malcom X, maybe there is something to be learned by studying that connection.

  6. HMQ, I just posted a comment here that was long and thoughtful and seemed to right out into outer space. I’ve been having all kinds of trouble with WordPress for the past couple of days (unable to log out, certain features don’t work, etc.) So, I’m going to try posting this as a test.

  7. This has hit all of us in the feminist and anti-MRA community pretty hard. I know I haven’t been getting enough sleep, staying up reading everything compulsively. (That manifesto was simultaneously boring as hell, because ER saw everything through the lens of his own discontent, and horrifying.)

    I don’t know what I think about that petition. We’re all pissed and want to do something, but it seems like the petition might just be giving the MRAs the attention they crave. Right now they have a lot of people who are willing to bloviate online about how terrible women and feminists are, but very few who will attend their rallies and wave their flag. They think more publicity will bring more angry dudes their way and they may be right. There are a lot of angry dudes out there. (Yes, we’re angry too, but we’re angry because we want justice. They are angry because they think there used to be this golden time when every man had a beautiful submissive woman who was devoted to him only, and they want to return to that time.)

  8. Yay! That time it went through. I lost a big, long comment last night in some black hole in cyberspace, apparently.

    This has really been a blow to me, too, because we all knew this was coming. It is very frustrating to be seeing these things going on – flagging videos at YT that threaten women, which are very similar to Elliot’s and warning at our blogs that the incitements to violence by MRAs are increasing – only to see an incident like this occur and watch helplessly as the pricks (who I suspect share the MRA perspective) at Time, CNN, and practically every other major news outlet and certainly every alternative one (alternative news men are outwardly misogynistic) dismiss the killers’ own words explaining his motives.

    I feel sorry for the parents, but I become outraged – and suspicious – when I see a father of one of the victims trying to politicize his own son’s death.

    The whole thing is reminiscent of the experience of men’s violence against women that we experience individually all the time – we are dismissed. We are silenced. Our concerns are cast aside for political aims or to sell newspapers (or whatever they sell these days) by exploiting one of the living victims mentioned in Rodger’s manifest by posting bikini photos of her everywhere and dragging her name in the mud. It’s similar to “the second rape.”

    I’ve wanted to blog about something but I don’t know where to start. It’s hard to just go on and not acknowledge the MRA’s collective dick stuck in our faces.

  9. What is disheartening – even for me whose threshold of expectation for men is extremely low – is to see the bastards continuing on, not only with their predictable denials, but with their insistence that if only a woman would have “taken one for the team” – I actually saw that in a comment section – people would be alive today.

    The thing that keeps going through my head is, “I’m done here.” And, the thing is I’ve been done with men for a long time – I thought. I’m certainly afraid of even the most minimal interactions I have with them, even online. And, now I think I’m a few more degrees of “done.”

    There is no point in talking to men – any men – because they haven’t been listening up to now and they’re never going to listen. What’s happening is not happening to them and they are incapable of putting themselves in our shoes – it’s a damned scary place to be – it’s hard to believe that so many of us are living like this.

    HMQ, I think I’ve shared with you before how I live – even behind locks and alarms with plenty of possibilities for self-defense inside my home, I’m usually up all night. I haven’t been able to sleep well at night since the mid-1990s. I remember years ago when I couldn’t fall asleep until the sun came up. There’s a lot of fear that stays with you – especially, if you’ve ever awakened to a strange man on top of you in your own bed. Things like that never, EVER go away. Being held at gun point, being beaten, being raped… the men will never understand because deep down the are ALL the perpetrator in some way.

    I understand wanting to change your focus. I appreciate all that you’ve done. It was you who first helped me understand what was going on at YT. I didn’t know what MRAs were, I only knew I was getting a lot of similarly-worded harassment from men whenever I commented on videos there, especially at MRA havens like the Young Turks channel. I was not surprised to see that Rodger was a subscriber when I looked at his account a few days ago.

    You’ve done a lot of good and I know you’ve tried to bridge the gap, looking for some humanity in men, in general. But, I think we can see very clearly where we are here… It seems to me that more women are seeing it since not only this event, but the reaction to it online and elsewhere. That’s where that echo in my head, “I’m done here” is coming from, anyway.

    I’m a paranoid nervous wreck so I don’t know I’d be much help to anyone, but if it’s within my capacity, I’d be willing to try.

    • Take some time to process. That’s what I’m doing. Do whatever it is you need to do. I’m not going to abandon my work here. I just need some time to vent and rage at how the signs were all there and nobody listened.

      MRA’s think the shit they produce doesn’t stick to them. I’m here to make sure it does. They are woman hating, violence inciting jackasses, nay terrorists.

      It’s time I added that lingo into my writing because it’s true.

      • I don’t see how what they are doing, including this latest act by the S.B. killer, does not constitute terrorism.

        It’s the very definition.

        This is why it doesn’t have to be all men – dealing with them is like playing Russian Roulette. The whole idea behind the terror is that you don’t know which chamber is loaded. They don’t all have to be loaded for the game to be terrifying and potentially deadly.

        I’m glad you’re doing what you’ve been doing. I couldn’t stand to do it. The reason I rely on your commentary and bits of dialogue from the MRAs is that I just can’t bear looking at their actual websites. It makes me physically ill to do so sometimes.

        But, I, also, think you’re taking a lot abuse… maybe unnecessarily (just my unsolicited opinion) and that’s another name for what the MRAs do to women online – abuse. They’re terrorists AND abusers.

Reply

