Open Thread

I’m at the point where I’m interested in finding another look for this blog. I have a new theme now but don’t be alarmed if you see me using other themes. I was tired of some of the features of the old theme. The links in this new theme stand out and I like the left widget column better than the right. I also wanted a nice summery colour.

My next post will be about transpolitics and the frustration that women have in dealing with transactivists.

Also, thank you to my donors from last month. I’m always needing help since I’m a disabled writer. Canada doesn’t treat its disabled adults very well. It’s almost as if they can’t wait for us to die so they don’t have to help us any more. It’s pretty irritating that the cost of living has risen but the disability rates haven’t. I’ve been on the highest level of disability for many years without an increase in 8 years. Any and all help from my readership is very welcome. See top left for the donate button. I accept donations all the time and don’t routinely have drives.

Enjoy the open thread. Talk about whatever floats yer boat.

8 thoughts on “Open Thread

  1. I think the color is purty and much warmer. Dunno about switching the links location. As your blog develops and has more and more visitors it’s always good to change whatever bugs you and present a clean surface for your work.

    US disability payments are also very low. I understand that the red tape can be amazing, with our patchwork system of state disability, workers’ compensation, and Obama and private insurance. Hope donations do keep you going as you have invested so much in learning about the manosphere and providing a feminist perspective.

    Maybe this year radfems will get together on a single site to share info and support each other. Resisting anti-feminist transactivist positions is taking so much gynergy from some of our brightest minds. I understand how important it is to resist though. And the MRAs take up so much gynergy too. I hope there can be better communication and coordination among us. I worry that with these flank attacks always going on it is hard to advance our theoretical work and our acts of resistance regarding the whole world of patriarchal relations out there.

  2. Since this is a totally open thread, I’d like to mention that this appears to be a good time to buy a house or refinance an old mortgage with a higher rate.

    Andrea Dworkin said that every woman needs a home of her own that she can’t be kicked out of. About three times more women than men are single heads of households and more women own their own homes than men because, very often, we are much more financially responsible – and we are used to working harder, longer and learning how to do without.

    I’ve been doing some checking around for a refi and I’ve blogged before about the benefits of home ownership for women and why it’s more important for women to have our own homes than it is for men. Like, for example, men can live out on the street without getting raped! Men can lease a house without being solicited for sex by the landlord or having to worry about him installing hidden cameras in your bathroom. I have a couple of nightmare renting stories that involve sleazy landlords, so I think it must happen more often that a lot of people realize.

    It’s not as hard to qualify for the low interest mortgages as I thought it would be. I, also, found a bank that services the loan locally.

    So, that’s what I’ve been up to.

    • I’ve been thinking of how women should start living together as partners. Since I’m disabled, I constantly try to think of ways to get out of disability poverty. I dream about living with women whereby the cost of living is shared so we can all have a better quality of life. There’s no way I could purchase a home or even have a decent space. It really makes me mad at how disabled women are treated so yeah, I’m pretty creative coming up with ways in my mind of having a good space where I could turn around and not whack my arm or my leg on a wall and maybe have a dog. I’m much healthier when I have a pet. I love my mice but they’re wild and I don’t get to snuggle them.

      So I dream.

      Here’s some videos by one of my fave women on Youtube, Creek Valley Critters. She hand raises mice and they get very snuggly when raised this way.
      Feeding the Baby Mice

      • HMQ,

        I sent you an email last night. I was thinking about your situation and I had an idea – maybe not a very good one, but I wanted to tell you privately.

        Your living situation there is definitely less than ideal. That business with the perverted security guard is an example of the kinds of problems women who live in rented space have to deal with.

        I’m scared of security guards (male security guards) because of experiences like yours. But, for other people – men and married couples, maybe – seeing a security guard on the edges of their gated property makes them feel some sense of safety. Apparently, it does, anyway because loads of people around here live in fancy gated communities like that. Those people must like it because they pay a bunch of extra money to live in those fancy-schmancy places.

        I think you’re lucky to have some supportive people there, at least, who believed you when you said you were being stalked by the guy at the front desk.

        It’s too bad you can’t have a little dog – or better, a little cat. I say better in this situation because they don’t have to be walked and can stay entirely indoors. A major reason I won’t have a dog is that it would have to be walked or, at least, let out to do it’s thing and I don’t feel comfortable opening my doors very often. And, even though I live in a gorgeous area with lots of birds and squirrels and it’s very quiet and rural, I’m terrified to go for a walk! Even with a loaded gun because I might have to use it on some random idiot who decides to follow me or who just sees me and decides he’s going to do something violent to me (…this is far from paranoia in my case!) and then where would I be?

        So, home-ownership doesn’t solve all your male predator problems.

        I write about it to encourage other women because I think, overall, it’s good. Women who can’t afford a home alone, could buy one together. Usually you have what they call Tenancy in Common, although the title can be done differently, but this is beneficial because each party owns 50%. Neither can sell without the permission of the other party. I’ve known instances where two women (not intimate partners, but good and trusted friends) bought a house together like that and it worked out reasonably well.

        Those mice are adorable. I’ve thought about getting a hamster a few times. They have some that are really beautiful with really long fur.

        I think it’s important to have another living creature as a companion when you live alone. I’m like you, I don’t feel as well when I don’t have a little furry friend to look after.

  3. Living in a city there is no way to own a home. Houses and even condos here are WAY above my price range. I think the only way a woman can own a home is if she’s out in a rural area. You are lucky, WOTW, I don’t know how you do it!

    • Hello, purplesagefem,

      Yes, I do feel lucky, at least, with regard to having my own space and some peace and quiet. You are, also, right that the bigger bargains are mostly out in the sticks and probably not on either coast. Fortunately, high-speed internet makes a lot of things possible that weren’t about 15 years ago. If I were going to relocate to another spot out in the boonies, one thing I’d have to know was if high-speed cable is available. There are still some places where it isn’t and satellite isn’t quite as good for some things.

      Of course, if you like city living, there are some big towns that still have reasonable prices on real estate. Houston leaps to mind because they have a housing glut and you can get a nice place for a reasonable price. The only thing bad there is the taxes and the proliferation of HOAs.

      But, if you’re in NYC or L.A., it’s not easy to buy a house. I knew a lot of people, even 20 years ago, who had nice houses and good jobs, but still couldn’t make it without taking in a tenant.

      If you’re a big city woman who decided to come out to the country to live, you’d probably have to do some adjusting. I grew up in the country and I had to do a lot of adjusting when I went to NYC. Life is different, attitudes are different, too. Out in the country, you have to be quite a bit more self-sufficient and plan ahead on things. For instance, there was a couple of weeks this winter when it was very difficult to get out because of the weather. The nearest grocery store/Walmart is a couple of towns away. It’s not like Manhattan where you can just run down to the local deli and grab a bagel and some fruit. Also, the county seat is a long ways off. I noticed in the big city people tend to rely more on the police or, at least, seem to have a greater expectation that the cops are going to do something to help you if you have a crime situation. If you have a burglar, you’re definitely going to have to handle that situation entirely on your own. Of course, you’d probably have to do that, anyway. It’s just that the expectation seems different from one place to another.

      But, there are lots of people wanting out of the big cities. Frequently, I run into Californians around here and they look pretty happy. They love our real estate prices. I had a friend years ago who had a million dollar house in a residential neighborhood in Malibu. (I felt that I was supposed to be impressed.) But, such a house here would probably go for less than $200K – maybe a lot less.

Reply

