To: The Genius

This afternoon I was cooking a caramel in the community kitchen, baking my famous egg custards and frying a batch of Japanese Gyoza dumplings, which were on sale in Chinatown, when I curiously came to check Twitter as I usually do throughout the day. Someone on the #istandwithdan HT had tweeted http://www.danperrins.com. Curiosity got the better of me, and I clicked.

What awaited me was sheer brilliance. Someone, and I’m guessing someone who likes me, made a site for Dan Perrins, complete with that picture of him with the beady eyes and sunken face, looking creepy as fuck.

The genius included ‘Fast Facts About Dan’ which included a run-down of Dan’s misogyny and his infamous remark to Jeff Sharlet of GQ magazine.

Adding to Dan’s infamous quote about murdering his ex, here’s another one of Dan’s quotes taken from here. Dan was whining that his local police weren’t going after his ex for some stupid crap about a letter that was mailed to his prior address and which he wasn’t living anymore.

‘I then informed said officer that this is probably a good reason why some women are assaulted and or killed if there can be no protection for a man who acts within the law and complains against a woman who breaks the law and the end result is for the police to protect the criminal.’

Does that sound like a justification for male violence against women? It sure does to me. It’s also a big dose of male entitlement and a mantrum. He’s saying if he doesn’t get his way that male violence is inevitable. Creeeeepy.

Going back to the danperrins.com site I found a ‘More Info on Dan’ link and The Genius had linked back here, no doubt a feminist of my school.

I don’t know who The Genius is but personally, I’d like to thank you for succinctly mocking Dan the Creep for all to see. Now, when anyone wants to know about Dan, Google will do the sweet work of indexing your brilliance and the whole world will get to see the face of Men’s Rights.

Dan is now stalking me and anyone who mentions me on Twitter. I’ve had Dan blocked for over a year but that doesn’t stop him. If he mentions you on Twitter, the best thing to do is block his ass. You won’t get anywhere with him. He’ll threaten to lolsuit you under some section of Canadian law that he doesn’t understand. Dan is simply not worth your time.

If he threatens you or keeps tweeting you screencap it and mail it to me. Go here and then here to find out why and how.

Now, kindly click on The Genius’ site. Give that person some love.

RECIPIES FROM MY KITCHEN:

Egg Custard:

  • 2 eggs
  • 2 yolks
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 2 cups milk
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract

In a saucepan scald the milk over med/high heat. In a mixing bowl whisk the eggs, sugar and vanilla. When milk is scalding add the egg mixture and whisk. Pour mixture through a strainer into oven safe ceramic cups. Place cups in a tall baking pan. Add boiling water up to the middle of the cups. Bake at 325 for 50-60 mins. Chill the cups. After custard is baked simply pour the caramel over it and refrigerate it. Once chilled, it’s ready to eat.

Caramel

  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 2 tbs cold water
  • lemon
  • 1/4 cup heavy cream
  • 1 tbls butter
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract

In saucepan add sugar, a few drops of lemon and cold water over med/high heat. DO NOT STIR IT but you can slosh the saucepan. You will see within 5 minutes the colour change from a light yellow to a medium amber. Do not allow it to burn. When it gets to medium amber remove from heat and add heavy cream. Stir gently. Add butter and vanilla, stir.

Some thoughts on caramel making:

Caramel is one of those things that you must watch while cooking. It took me 4 tries to get it right. Sometimes the sugar is overcooked and sometimes undercooked. It takes a keen eye to get that medium amber colour just right. Keep trying. You’ll get it.

 

 

If you have any questions, let me know.

6 thoughts on “To: The Genius

  1. Glad you’re keeping your strength up and your attention on something satisfying like cooking. Your recipe for egg custard with caramel sounds delicious. I have been experimenting with the same custard ingredients in slightly different proportions to make creme anglaise, which I use to pour hot on spotted dick.

  2. To be honest I skip the dick and just enjoy the creme anglais with berries. The dick is kind of boring,really.

  3. Spotted dick over at AVFM the other day. It was steamed but no longer hot. Not enough sultanas for my taste either which means the tasteless bits take over. Maybe a little doughy too.

  4. There’s a [insert my real name here].com too. Guess who owns it? ME!!!

    Too bad Danny Boy wasn’t smart enough to register his before somebody else beat him to it. LMFAO.

Reply

