Coolstorybro: The Car Accident

This dude got in a paint scratch fender bender with a woman who he then terrorized with his aggressive attitude to the point she called the cops to settle him down. He frames a paint transfer as ‘abuse’ so it gives us a clue into his anger issues. Most of these MRA’s use ‘throwaways’ which are one time online reddit accounts so that people can’t follow their history, usually because they say sexist, racist and downright stupid shit.

<RANT> Sorry ahead of time for the rant and the throwaway. This just happened and I’m furious and sad at the same time.

A woman tried to sneak her car through a left turn against the light this morning. I had the right of way, but stopped in time when I saw her turning. She apparently still didn’t have enough room and clipped my car. Quite clearly her fault. I note her license plate (I’ve been hit and run several times before), but she pulls over.

I get out and ask her for her information. Politely. Maybe I’m a bit stern, but that’s all. She immediately tells me I’m being abusive and that she won’t give me her info. I told her I’m going to have to call the cops. I ask her once again for her info, and she tells me no, call the cops. I definitely called her some names for being so deliberately difficult.

Let me guess: he called her a bitch and a cunt. Not violent at all amirite?~HMQ

I thought she had called a friend, but when the cops arrived, they were several, and I was quickly informed I was being watched and recorded. Of course, I was standing off the side with my hands down, so I’m really surprised that this cop is talking with such hostility towards me. I haven’t even explained to him what happened yet!

He goes and talks to the woman, first, and then comes back to get my information, which, again, I’m calmly standing, holding my stuff, and waiting.

The cop tells me that the damage is minor, and I better watch myself, because this is a disturbance, not a traffic accident call, and I’ve been reported as being abusive. He tells me that the damage is minor, and I should just let it go, because of my abuse, which he’s putting in his report. He tells me I shouldn’t conduct myself that way, and tells me my personal life and business are going to suffer because of it. I’m flabbergasted, still standing there calm, but definitively agitated.

This isn’t the first time this has happened. . . .

Edited for some other dumb story that’s not relevant~HMQ

Back to the present, I tried to explain to the cop that she refused to give her information, which is a crime, and she lied about the accident, to a cop, a crime, and that she hit my car in the first place. He didn’t want to hear it. He told me to calm down, several times, even though I was just standing there, definitely agitated, but not making any wild movements, not yelling, etc.

The cop didn’t care. He was on her side, and even tried to convince me to let it go. He told me that he’s an expert in the law, and that I’m in the wrong here. I was left feeling humiliated and unrepresented. After all, I had called for help when someone hit me.

I’m so sick with anger and frustration right now. I’ve scheduled an appt with my therapist, who I’m sure will tell me that I need to work on my coping skills. Yes, that’s right, no one needs to work on telling the truth, or being nice to others. I just have to work on how well I react when abused.

The best part is that I normally drive with a dashcam but forgot it this morning. It would have been all on video.

</RANT>

So let’s translate this out of brolanguage and into plain honest English. He admits he called her names and was ‘definitely agitated.’ I know what he did. He got aggressive with her, called her a cunt, and she called the cops fearing male violence. Anyone who gets into a minor fender bender and then calls someone names is a violent asshole. There’s just no need for that kind of behaviour. It’s a fucking accident.

How many of you have gotten into a minor bump with another car and then got out to call the other driver names? Like none? The rational thing would be to stay calm and exchange information but not for dude. Dude has to show that woman how wrong she was and threaten her. He makes a point of saying he wasn’t ‘moving his arms’ so that means he probably was. Asshole.

He also admits he usually drives with a dashcam but forgot it that day. The question is why? Why would anyone in a first world country need a fucking dashcam? And why would you ‘forget’ the dashcam? Doesn’t the thing stay in the car? Or maybe he has road rage often so the camera is always being removed from the car to dl the vids to his computer? I think he has the video and doesn’t want to show it because it would back up her story.

He sees a therapist who he knows is going to tell him he’s the one with the problem. If you think a minor accident is somehow ‘abuse’ then you should get your DL revoked. I have a feeling this asshole takes his anger issues out on motorists.

20 thoughts on “Coolstorybro: The Car Accident

  1. I wonder if he is one of those grifters who arrange minor accidents and then offer to take your money so you don’t get points on your license and higher insurance rates.
    It sounds like he threatened to call the cops but she did call the cops. Then when the police showed up they were extremely unprofessional and refused to take a report.
    Cool story bro.

    • Also, I can’t help but wonder how much of a disturbance this d00d was causing along the side of the roadway if the cop gave him a verbal warning to bring it down a notch.

  2. Why on earth would a women want to give out her personal information to an arsehole like that? I wouldn’t.

    And this “I’ve been hit and run several times before” bit. In the course of two years I have had precisely one dent in my car, which looks to be from another car opening it’s door onto my car, no note left, didn’t notice it for heaven knows how long as it’s a small dent that you can only see when the light shines on it a particular way.

    tl;dr I am suspicious of people who have experienced many “hit and runs” because no-one I know who has a car and drives reasonably often experiences this very much at all.

    What was the extent of the damage in this case? He doesn’t mention what the damage is, at all.

    We’re talking what should be a very low impact collision, because no one should be proceeding at speed through an intersection controlled by lights, as this one is. If he was speeding, he will have some fault attributed to his actions.

    I’ve had people turn against me at intersections where they should have stopped – all blokes – and I have been able to slow down without hitting them at all, sometimes having to brake quite hard to avoid hitting them (yes some people are that impatient).

    • Why on earth would a women want to give out her personal information to an arsehole like that? I wouldn’t.

      Exactly. This is what I was thinking when I read that part. I think his little tantrum is due to the fact that, if she refuses to give him her info, he can’t stalk, rape and/or murder her.

  3. I’m confused by his own explanation of the accident. She was turning left “against the light”, so she was running a red light? Did he not mention that to the cop? Or does he mean she had a green but no specific left turn signal? If that’s the case, calling it “against the light” is very odd.

    And how did she wind up striking his car at all? She turned left, he stopped in time, but she only just grazed his car? How is that possible? I’ve never seen a left turning car running into a right-of-way car be anything other than a significant impact.

    In either event, though, this must be the first time in history that a male police officer took the side of a woman with no evidence of serious invective from a man.

    • “I’m confused by his own explanation of the accident. She was turning left “against the light”, so she was running a red light? ”

      That was the gist I was getting (typically by trying to beat the yellow-to-red transition and losing).
      ” Did he not mention that to the cop? ” He says he tried: “Back to the present, I tried to explain to the cop that she refused to give her information, which is a crime, and she lied about the accident, to a cop, a crime, and that she hit my car in the first place.”

      “If that’s the case, calling it “against the light” is very odd.” Might be a regional thing.

      “And how did she wind up striking his car at all?” Several possibilities come to mind. Her car’s side slightly swiping his car’s front bumper, a brief knocking at the corners, or corner on mid-bumper collision.

      ” I’ve never seen a left turning car running into a right-of-way car be anything other than a significant impact.” The imagined scenario playing out in my head is a narrowly-missed t-bone collision, and if the imagined scenario bears resemblance to reality, his fury is quite understandable. If the details of the accident itself are essentially correct, hopefully Miss Jerk swerves in front of an unmarked police vehicle next time (when it has the right of way) and gets a citation instead.

      • […] his fury is quite understandable.

        Um, actually….no, it’s not. This whinefest should be filed under #FirstWorldProblems.

        […] hopefully Miss Jerk swerves in front of an unmarked police vehicle […]

        Hopefully, you fall face-first into a wood chipper, along with the raging dudebro you’re so ardently defending.

        • “Um, actually….no, it’s not. This whinefest should be filed under #FirstWorldProblems. ”

          As if potentially-lethal moving violations do not occur in other countries or in front of less-secure vehicles. Minimal damage is a lucky outcome.

          “Hopefully, you fall face-first into a wood chipper, along with the raging dudebro you’re so ardently defending.”

          If you really wanted two people dead because you have no empathy for people in an accident, you’d arrange it yourself and then try to beat the murder charges. Instead you’d rather defend a careless driver (or loosely assert that other driver is at fault based on… _____) for not providing insurance details (ie not offering to pay for the damage inflicted) possibly where it may be required by law.

          • Welp, looks like we have the first male whiner on this post! Congrats!

            If you think calling women names after you get into a fender bender is totes ok then you should have your DL revoked too.

            You see dude, what we’re pointing out is that violent aggressive dude is a lying ass. Even the cops told him to calm his testicles down and he knew his therapist would tell him that too.

            Yet he goes onto a MRA subreddit whining like the poor victim when he was the perp.

            Now take that knowledge and stick it up your childish whiny ass.

          • Listen smartass, it’s pretty obvious that you automatically believe his side of the story just because he’s a dude. Yeah, he couldn’t be exaggerating at all. Nah… it’s all her fault because “we all know how those wimmin drivers are!!! har har har!”. Well, if women are such awful drivers, how come I’ve almost been pancaked by road-raging speed demons with dicks, on numerous occasions, while trying to cross the street? And this has happened to other pedestrians too. Men fucking hate people who walk. It’s like Death Race 2000 or something. I’ve never seen any woman actually speed up when they see a person trying to cross the street. That is just fucking diabolical shit that only a psychotic male would find amusing.

            PS NASCAR

  4. “This isn’t the first time this has happened. . . .”

    Assuming this is a white guy–and there’s no reason to think otherwise from his story–he must come across as very weird and hostile if police immediately disbelieve him on a semi-regular basis. Moreover, the way he describes the accident, it sounds as if she couldn’t have done more than clip his car’s bumper with her own. When that happens where I live, drivers stop briefly, make sure there’s no serious damage, then go on their way without exchanging information. No wonder the police considered it a nuisance call!

    By the way, this guy reads autistic to me. I’m related to several men who have all the signs of high-functioning autism, and that sort of overreaction is absolutely typical, along with the confusion as to why everyone else has a problem with the way he’s acting. His focus on the woman not obeying the rules, immediate escalation of the situation, and comment that his therapist will tell him he should work on coping skills are additional clues. And he’s whining on Reddit.

    My own experience is that autistic rigidity tends to amplify male entitlement, making some men with it more openly hostile and obnoxious to women than those with better social skills. The ones I know also assume everyone else is in the wrong and claim unfair treatment on a regular basis. Entitlement and autistic traits are a toxic combination (which probably contributed to my becoming a radical feminist at a young age).

  5. What do you want to be the fender bender was HIS fault?!

    I’ve had one accident in a left turn when an brain-damaged XY in pickup truck thought he was in a dual-turn lane (he wasn’t!) and turned with me. He hit one of my rear quarter panels – and blamed me! Of course. My car wasn’t hurt too bad and the cops in the town where this happened have a long-standing reputation for raping female motorists in such situations, so we agreed not to call the cops and just deal with it.

    Since that happened several years ago, I’ve been extra cautious at intersections because men in pick up truck (sometimes big SUVs) seem not to see me in my little car. I had a guy in a big pick-up truck force me into an oncoming turn lane just a couple of weeks ago because he was turning at left turn signal when he was in the “straight” lane!

    The other thing you have to watch is when you’re in a dual straight lane and they decide to change lanes in the middle of the intersection for no reason at all!

    Men are bad drivers!

    Before they forced the insurance companies to treat both sexes equally in terms of insurance rates, women paid less than men because men get in a lot more accidents and drive more aggressively.

    I’m glad the cops who showed up treated this woman fairly.

    Another somewhat related story – this relates to how men don’t like to appear like they are bad drivers. They will always lie and pretend that they are better at driving than they are.

    I’m in the market for a new car, so I’m in the looking around stage and I went to a car dealership. By the way, ALL the sales reps were MEN! There were no women anywhere on the sales floor. (Women are usually better at car sales than men, but there are zero – this amazed me.) I test drove a car and showed the guy my trade in, which is a straight shift. When he came back to the desk where I was sitting he told me a story for no particular reason that I know of, but he said: I always believe women when they tell me they can drive a manual transmission. But, I never know about men.

    Then, he told me some stories about selling stick-shift cars to dudebros who confessed only after the sale was completed that they didn’t know how to drive one and asked him if they could teach him how to drive it!

    So, the point is that dudes have some kind of ego issues surrounding their auto-driving prowess. They just can’t admit they can’t do something (drive a stick, for instance) or drive properly, so they always have some kind of cover story for their inadequacies.

    I bet this idiot caused the accident! I’d betcha! :–)

    • Men are bad drivers!

      This. They love to lie and say that women are, but statistics and casual observation proves otherwise.

      Before they forced the insurance companies to treat both sexes equally in terms of insurance rates, women paid less than men because men get in a lot more accidents and drive more aggressively.

      Of course, men support this type of “equality”, but they eagerly attempt to play the percentages when it involves things like equal pay (eg. “wimminz get payed less because maternity leave!1!!”).

  6. I don’t want to reply to the whiner dude, but I want to say this in relation to males hitting women’s cars. Sometimes they do this on purpose so they can commit a second crime against the woman, usually robbery or sexual assault.

    Also, there have been some cases caught on video where there is a fender bender, an actual accident, in a parking lot and the man gets out and starts assaulting and beating the women in the other car.

    I’m sure the cops know this goes on because they’re the ones who have to deal with these aggressive males when the 911 call goes out.

    • The cops are well aware of tendency for disputes to break out in the event of perceived poor driving (especially accidents). The laws are shifting in part to avoid people making informal arrangements or escalating the tension without the mediatory presence of law enforcement.

Reply

