Introducing Radhome

This is a test.

This is only a test.

I decided to make a forum for us. It’s very bare bones and simple. It’s meant as an adjunct to this place. If it doesn’t work I’ll just blow it up. I’ve had several bb’s and so I have no qualms about whether it’ll work or not. If it takes too much of my time I’ll either stop it or have someone else mod it.

You have to be a registered member to post on it. It’s a radfem space and I named it ‘radhome.’

The rules are pretty simple and I posted them at the top of the forum.

Radhome

.

20 thoughts on “Introducing Radhome

    • I had an old profile on that board b/c I used to be in another community. I answered your question. I’m glad you noticed that. It’s an old me I’m glad I evolved from.

      Like most girls, I was indoctrinated. It took a while to free myself from it.

      • Well, we all have skeletons in our closets, I suppose.

        I think a lot of people would be shocked to learn that I used to be a fan of Eminem many years ago, because I bought into the false notion that he was just being offensive for the sake of controversy, and not because he actually meant the things he was saying. I thought “hey, I like doing that too”, but then I learned very quickly that women aren’t allowed to behave in that fashion. Saying something offensive, followed by “it’s just a joke, lighten up” only works for dudes. Then, at some point, I started to realize that 99% of the foul things men say really aren’t a joke; it’s how they truly feel. I can’t fucking stand Eminem now, and I believe that he played a very big part in re-popularizing extreme misogyny.

        I was brought up to be distrustful of men from the get-go, so that point of my life was a huge departure from that. Glad I came back to my senses. 🙂

        • I learned to be distrustful of guys over many years. I’m so glad you understand. I felt bad about it but the best policy is total honesty

          I also used to be a domme and a prostituted woman so I had to mentally ‘like’ it in order to survive. It’s a mental trick you do to make men the nice guys. Once I got out of the sex industry I was able to reflect and look back on the abuse and the trauma. I then realized what was really going on. I was able to see that it wasn’t me driving the sex industry, it was men.

          I also lived less than 2 blocks away from Canada’s serial prostitute murderer, Robert Pickton. I was there when they took the bones from his farm. I saw the whole thing.

          As a young girl I was indoctrinated into compulsory heterosexuality. I had a relationship with a woman in Uni and it was a wonderful one and one I wished I never gave up. You could say it was my first step toward understanding that competing with women over men was a silly fucking thing I was taught to do.

          Breaking that mental hold was the best thing I ever did. I’m sure most women that come to radical feminism, or any kind of feminism, have a similar background.

          We can talk about it. I think it’s a good conversation.

          I don’t consider it a skeleton. I consider it a point where I was simply trying to survive.

          On the street you have to compete with other women to get a john. There are fights on the street between women. It’s horrible.

          I used to see other women as competition, just to survive. This mental trick is what stops women from getting together. It’s part of patriarchal conditioning of our minds.

          I’m glad it’s over but I still struggle with internalized misogyny. When I come across these thoughts I go to my radfem library, and work it out.

          I know enough theory to last me a lifetime and thanks to some really great women I am able to heal.

          • Thanks for being so honest. I do believe that only when former prostituted women have come out the other side (of prostitution) and had time to reflect and digest can they view their experiences objectively. In saying that, not all do; the lucky and smart ones do.

  1. Not all men is what kept me trying to find a way to relate to them for years. “Not all men…” is a belief I no longer subcribe to.

  2. Between Esmay drunkenly attacking Davison and Elam’s drunken vid with a dozen schmucks, AVFM is moving into complete self-destruction.

Reply

