Germaine Greer Will Speak at Cardiff

Just a reminder: Mancheeze is fundraising because she’s broke and computer is failing. See the right sidebar under my picture for the donate button.

halloween fundraiser copy

It’s come to me by way of some very special women that Cardiff will ensure Greer’s safety and that she plans to go ahead with her talk. This comes as a surprise since Greer told BBC Two that she didn’t want to be physically assaulted and that it wasn’t worth it.

It’s also come to my attention that the Cardiff Women’s officer Rachel Melhuish may have violated Cardiff’s University policy by starting a petition to no-platform Greer using libelous slurs. I hope this avenue is pursued and a precedent set so that University students cannot do this any more.

If you haven’t signed the petition in support of Greer, please do so here.

You must understand that Greer isn’t the first woman to be no-platformed by transactivists under the ‘liberal feminist’ umbrella. Julie Bindel has been no platformed by NUS for years by transactivists who simply call her a ‘TERF’ and a ‘transphobe.’ These insults are meant to stoke emotional reactions but have no basis in fact.

Canadian feminist Meghan Murphy from Feminist Current was also attacked by transactivists and a pro-prostitution lobby org who started a petition to get her fired from Rabble, a media outlet. I know, because I was the woman that started a counter petition to support her too. It was successful, in that it garmered 3,000 or so signatures and Rabble wrote a statement in support of Murphy.  In my opinion the statement was weak. A Voice for Men, the misogynist hate site published a piece on this event and sided with transactivists and the prostitution lobby, to no ones surprise.

The attempt at no-platforming Greer is just another day for iconic feminist activists around the globe who speak about women and girls. One transactivist, Peyton Quinn, attempted to get my counter petition in support of Greer taken down for hate speech. Payton tweeted their followers to false flag it.

Underlying all of this silencing and misogyny is a fundamental issue. Feminist theory and transactivism are opposed to each other on some serious grounds, namely the concept of gender.

4 thoughts on “Germaine Greer Will Speak at Cardiff

  1. Hey! Your latest video just came up in my YT subscription feed! It’s like Christmas came early!

    Great job, both on starting the petition and making this excellent video.

    You definitely need a new computer! I hope you raise lots of money. You deserve it!

    • I hope so too. Living off disability is state sanctioned poverty. I have a mere $400 a month to survive .

      I do this research and blog and activate for women and girls. I made a job for myself and hope my sisters and supporters will support my efforts.

Reply

