I Started the Germaine Greer Counter-petition; Gimme Some Greer! UPDATED

I’m completely sick of transactivists trying to shut down and bully anyone, especially women, that don’t march lock-step with their views. When I saw that yet another woman, Germaine Greer, was being petitioned and no platformed by some students at Cardiff, I sprung into action by writing a counter-petition.  You may sign it here.

It makes me angry that I must write silly counter-petitions so women can speak on college campuses or to help make sure women don’t get fired from their jobs. Yes, I had to write a petition for another woman,  feminist writer Meghan Murphy, when a bunch of transactivists thought Rabble should fire her for her views. That petition was successful in that it garnered appx 3,000 signatures.

The fact that I have to do this to ensure the principles of free speech, really bothers me. Greer says she dislikes online feminism, well I hate what I have to spend my days doing because liberal feminists can’t handle an alternative opinion, especially when it comes to transpolitics.

I share the same ideas as Greer on this subject as do many other women. It’s just that most of us don’t speak out because you get immediately attacked, and in Greer’s case, had objects thrown at her. I find the behaviour of transactivists to be quite telling because it’s obvious to anyone who looks at what’s really going on here will come to the same educated conclusions as Greer does.

A human being cannot change sex. It’s impossible. Females are not males and vice versa. If you were born with XY chromosomes, you’re male. You will not have the capacity to become pregnant or menstruate. That’s a pretty big deal in women’s lives. Our biology matters. I can’t ‘identify’ out of an abortion if I become pregnant.

Greer is s second wave feminist. She wrote a feminist classic ‘The Female Eunuch’ and has a whole catalogue of talks you can find on Youtube from the 70’s and onward that show just how brilliant she is. She’s done a lot for women, a helluva lot.

Greer centers women and girls in her analysis. She doesn’t quite care about transgender issues. She stated recently on Newsnight that she hasn’t talked about those issues in decades. So why all the fuss?

Well, because it seems transactivists, and even those who call themselves 3rd wave feminists, simply can’t manage to refrain from going to Greer’s talk, which isn’t on trans issues by the way. It’s to be about women and girls. Instead they have to punish her, call her horrible names, threaten her and try silencing her. This is the behaviour of children, not adults who have to navigate the world where competing ideas are everywhere.

UPDATE:

Here’s a tweet by the person who started the silly petition to silence Greer.

It’s just a bunch of petty name calling. I’ve already seen physical threats coming from the translobby on Twitter as well.

//platform.twitter.com/widgets.js//platform.twitter.com/widgets.js

Universities are supposed to be the place where ideas are challenged and debated, where people are taught not what to think but how to think and parse information, not shut down before a word is uttered.

Greer told the BBC she’s 72 and tired of this. Well, I’m tired of this too. I’m tired of having to write counter petitions so that women can speak their minds without being viciously attacked and vilified by transbullies.

UPDATE:

The New York Times is reporting that Cardiff has rejected the plan to silence Greer and intends to continue to extend the invitation to her. Whether she’ll speak there or not, is solely in her court. She did say on BBC Two Newsnight that trans bullies threw things at her in the past and she really doesn’t want to speak at Cardiff if this is the environment. She may have been being snarky or she may have been serious. We’ll just have to wait and see.

If you’re reading this Germaine, I’ve watched almost every recorded talk of yours on Youtube. I admire you and desperately want you to speak. I know standing up to transactivists is tiring and they’re so very manly with their aggression but as a woman, you are making it possible for other women to speak up about this issue for the first time.

Too often women are bullied by men wearing dresses who will never understand or know what it’s like to be female. They’ll never become pregnant and have to find an abortion provider. They’ll never have to worry about menstruation and the pain and mess that comes with it. They’ll never be women.

Women know this and they’re finally speaking out because you dared to, even under threat of male violence and the supposed feminists who enable them.

I thank you for that.

13 thoughts on “I Started the Germaine Greer Counter-petition; Gimme Some Greer! UPDATED

  1. Thank you for the petition. Enough is enough with the institutionalized sexism that is transgenderism. I have been opposed to transgenderism (then called “transsexualism”) since around 1974. I was right then and am right about it now.

  2. I don’t agree with your views – I think that a small number of women are born with an incorrect body, and there is more to being a human than simply animated matter, call it a soul, or whatever, but i still agree that Greer should be heard. So thanks for the petition.

  3. Thank you so much for starting the petition. As a Welsh woman and former Cardiff University student it’s a total embarrassment to see the Cardiff SU Women’s Officer attacking a feminist pioneer in this way. I hope that this inspires more women to speak out against the censorship of feminists and regressive trans politics.

  4. Whilst I disagree with the whole anti-trans movement… I have happily shared this petition around as I’m frankly sick of Cardiff’s SU (and other SU’s) bullying!

    It shames me to think that my city of birth is producing such nasty people from it’s seat of learning and I think the banning or censoring of so-called “Dangerous Ideas” will ultimately do more harm than good to Student’s education and wellbeing in the long run…

    Personally, I’m not supportive of 3rd Wave Feminism and from a generation that has seen Ms Greer upset the establishment with her radical but relevant ideas. But to me, that’s how society progresses. And okay, she made a few “Off Colour” comments. But I do not interpret that as hate-speech but rather opinion. And Ms/Miss/Xie/XE Melhuish has no right to prevent others to enjoy (and even learn from) Ms Greer’s opinions just because her Feefees are hurt and some confused teenagers on hormone blockers (Which I do think is immoral) are crying like little wimps.

    Seeing the previous comments from folks to which I have tangled horns with on Social Media. I’m not here to agree with your personal viewpoints on various topics, but this matter is something that has enraged me enough to do what I can to get this petition out there, get signatures and even ensure that Ms Greer gets heard!

    • Craig,

      Characterizing that acknowledging the reality that men can’t be women as an “anti-trans movement” is a gross distortion. Transgenderism is regressive, homophobic and misogynist in that it seeks to erase female biological reality, which has been the source of female oppression since forever. To oppose it is only common sense.

      Furthermore, nobody here is “anti-trans” in that they shouldn’t exist or wear dresses or have surgery or whatever they want, but what they see as their “rights” are in direct opposition to women’s rights, and that is the whole point and why it has been endorsed so quickly by patriarchal institutions, especially traditional academia and the capitalist medical industrial complex, both of which looooove gender roles and the idea of lady brain as ways to maintain male supremacy.

      In any case it is a good thing that you see the danger in universities becoming fascist strongholds and support the petition.

      • Actually many of us oppose the very existence of transsexualism/transgenderism because it is a human rights violation. The surgeries should not be allowed or the hormone treatments for what is a bottom a mental disorder or a sexual perversion/fetish. Psychosurgery has a very long, very ugly history. Always remember that GRS or SRS came into existence in order to “treat” homosexuality. There is no point trying to pander to libertarian ideas, which Greer even does. It is not ethical for doctors to treat psychological problems with surgery.

        • I agree with you for the most part but I think it gets tricky trying to oppose what people of a consenting age (not children) can or can’t do to their own bodies.
          But I appreciate your point of view.

          • You could make the same argument for lobotomies. It just doesn’t wash. Doctors are ethically bound to do no harm. Hacking off body parts and pumping somebody with hormones because a deranged individual wants it is not right. Transsexualism should have died with George “Christine” Jorgensen. Libertarian arguments about “consent” don’t cut it with me because there are far bigger issues involved than what somebody’s selfish wants are

  5. I don’t think she or any speaker should be silenced on any topic, and especially if they are calling out the trans cult. I signed the counter petition, and I mean that for whatever topic and whatever speaker. These people are fascists.

  6. I usually disagree with most of your conclusions; but , your youtube video was nicely done. I think you should have left the comments open for more discussion. But , as I said, well done…

Reply